Healthy desserts! Mmm

I try to steer clear of sugar as much as I possibly can. This morning I whipped up some pumpkin paleo brownies using a combination of two recipes by The Merrymaker Sisters and Quirky Cooking! I basically took the Merrymaker’s ingredients and used the Thermomix method from the Quirky Cooking recipe!


I also added in the peanut butter and some extra rice malt syrup to make it just sweet enough for my liking! Here are the links to the recipes:

http://themerrymakersisters.com/no-sweetener-pumpkin-cacao-brownie-yes-sweetener-free-brownie/

http://www.quirkycooking.com.au/2016/10/pumpkin-brownie-pudding-peanut-butter-sauce/


So when I first decided to go “sugar free” about two years ago (quotation marks are there to emphasise that I did NOT stick to this diet for many many months following the move to Canberra) I figured out pretty quickly that many sugar free recipes are also by default free of gluten and dairy.

This led me to make an astonishing discovery – I am one hundred percent lactose intolerant and for the most part, gluten intolerant too. This is not me being paranoid or a health freak; I have spent years struggling with IBS, bloating, various complications from an underactive thyroid – but the second I changed my diet a lot of these problems stopped. I DO believe in everything in moderation – and I can’t help but indulge every now and then – although I usually end up regretting it later on (I don’t become violently ill but it can be really REALLY uncomfortable).

Anyway, after I trialled a sugar free diet I became well acquainted with many amazing sweet treats which are free of sugar (and usually free of gluten/dairy too). I thought I’d compile a list of 5 more of my absolute favourite ones to make which I’ve made multiple times and they always work!


1. Ferrero Rocher Bliss Balls (recipe by Wholefood Simply)

I looooooove hazelnuts, so any healthy recipe that utilises hazelnut meal is a big tick for me. These bliss balls are deliciously simple and you don’t actually get that overwhelming/sickly taste from the dates – they add just enough sweetness to be able to consume a few in a row 😉

https://wholefoodsimply.com/ferrero-rocher-bliss-balls/

2. Paleo Lemon Curd Pie (recipe by Not Enough Cinnamon)

This recipe is a winner for me because the crust is super simple to whip up in a hurry WITHOUT the use of ground-up nuts like most paleo desserts. It works really well and doesn’t crumble. The lemon curd filling is to die for and if it’s too sour for your liking you can add more rice malt syrup or honey depending on what you prefer.

http://notenoughcinnamon.com/2014/10/10/paleo-lemon-curd-pie/


3. Raw Strawberry Cheesecake (recipe by Taste)

This is a really yummy and refreshing cake. My favourite part is the sweet strawberry topping which is almost like a sorbet. The downside of many “raw” desserts is that you need to keep them in the freezer or they completely melt, and it’s hard to get the right consistencies. Using cashews as a cheesecake filling was really hard for me until I bought a Thermomix then it worked like a dream! I did have to adjust to the taste but it’s soooo good (not quite as cheesey as cream cheese but the texture is thick and smooth if you have a high powered food processor). For the base, I tend to sub the nuts for macadamias and almonds because they are slightly milder in taste than walnuts or pecans.

http://www.taste.com.au/recipes/raw-strawberry-cheesecake-vegan/5fde6190-fcff-4f96-a8b5-6dcf46d80d69

4. Orange and Poppyseed Cake (recipe by The Merrymaker Sisters)

This recipe is perfect for morning or afternoon tea, with a cuppa and loved ones to share with! I’ve made it a couple of times and it works a treat – zesty but sweet as well. I wish almond meal wasn’t so expensive because I absolutely love the flavour – it doesn’t work in every single cake recipe I’ve tried but in this one it makes it rich and moist.

http://themerrymakersisters.com/healthy-orange-and-poppy-seed-cake/


5. Caramel Slice (recipe by I Quit Sugar)

Okay so my mum initially introduced me to this recipe. She served it for dessert and it was met with groans from members of my family (mostly males) but I LOVED it. I went home and made it for myself and it tasted gooey and magical. It’s a substantially different recipe to most sugar free caramel slices because it very closely resembles the real thing. My faaaavourite part is the chocolate ganache because a.) it uses REAL chocolate and b.) the coconut cream gives it the most amaaazing silky texture.

https://iquitsugar.com/recipe/caramel-slice/

Please do yourself a favour and try these recipes even if you don’t stick to a sugar free or paleo diet. You can always tweak them and adjust them to your taste. Or simply take a regular cake recipe and make it sugar free by using coconut sugar instead of raw/white sugar – I buy coconut sugar in bulk and refuse to keep any other type of sugar in my house (I have a small pot for visitors hot drinks only).

Like I said, I’m not perfect, but BOY does my body thank me when I look after it.

Leave a comment