Maple + Clove

Mmmmm weekends.

Brunch was definitely in order for us and has been long overdue. Now that I’m blogging though, I am aiming to brunch on Sundays and have delicious food posts to keep your eyes pleased.

This weekend we chose Maple + Clove which we have been to once before but hadn’t gotten to try the breakfast menu. Omg. It was amazing. I’m pretty fussy and I ate almost everything on my plate. I chose the sweet potato hash brown, which was loaded with scrambled eggs, ham and rocket with the YUMMIEST dressing/sauce thing on top. Marty always tells me that I feel the need to “change” everything slightly on the menu… like I can never order anything as is… which is true… 😉 so when the waitress asked what I wanted I initially asked for poached eggs instead of scrambled as per the menu. She said the scrambled eggs were a really big part of the dish and poached eggs would make the dish too small, so I trusted her judgement and decided to give it a whirl. Not that I dislike scrambled but seriously poached eggs tho.


Anyway when it came out I was surprised by the hash brown to egg ratio – the hash brown was quite small and she was right – so much eggs! Much to my delight however it was an exciting eating experience and packed full of flavour – well seasoned throughout, crunchy almonds in the hash brown and dukkah to give it a little spice (just enough). I love rocket and there was lots of it, and it complemented all the flavours wonderfully. The best part though was that sauce thing on top, I don’t know what it was, but it was soooo tasty and just YUM!

I give my dish a 8.5/10 🙂

I had a super nut smoothie to go with it which was also amazing! It wasn’t too sweet which I actually really loved (in comparison to my longstanding favourite peanut butter smoothie from Doubleshot in Deakin). Oh and everything I ate & drank was completely gluten and dairy free! Tick tick for intolerant Erika!


Marty had some equally delish looking granola with speculaas yoghurt mmmmm (speculaas is a spiced Dutch biscuit – we are both Dutch so absolutely love it!) I don’t think he rated the coffee very highly but he is the BIGGEST coffee snob and has crazy standards. I don’t drink coffee so none of it really phases me haha I wouldn’t know.

Oh and the decor was beautiful – neutral colours with gorgeous green vines and plants to give it an earthy, modern feel. There were plenty of tables both inside and outside and service was extremely prompt and friendly! Very happy customer.

Go and visit this place! The area around it is stunning too, I love Barton/Forrest/Manuka – it’s basically the Beverley Hills of Canberra and is super stunning. One day when I’m rich and famous that’s where you’ll find me hehe.

Then I can eat at Maple + Clove eeeevery day!

Leave a comment