Just a little walk…

In November we moved from the inner south of Canberra to the outer south. And I mean OUTER south (Tuggeranong)! It takes us about 40 minutes to get from our side of Canberra to the north side – which is a really long time in Canberra time!

Distance aside though, it is an incredibly gorgeous place to live. Like really really pretty – colourful, diverse, quiet, and loved by those who live there. The time issue doesn’t phase me now – I can’t imagine living anywhere else!

Our place is a 5 minute walk from the pond, which is always glittering and peaceful. I love going there. So husby and I (and our cameras) tried to catch some last light after work. Sah cute.


My top 5 fave spots in the ACT to snap some pretty pictures?

1. Mount Stromlo – there is an observatory at the top and the view is stellar. Go early in the morning (just watch out for the cyclists) and watch the world wake up. Perfection!

2. Mount Ainslie – of course! I’m not a particularly outdoorsy person so I love a lookout I can drive up to 😉 It’s a classic spot and it never gets old for me. I had been there twice before I moved to Canberra and still go often. I guarantee you will secure the best seat in the house as far as sunsets go.

3. Red Hill Lookout – another stunning scene from high above but this time you get some delish food & drinks thrown in at Little Brother should you decide to stop. What a heavenly combo!

4. Yarralumla lakeside – anywhere you can stop along Alexandrina Drive – there are a couple of jetties to sit and relax and plenty of amazing sunlight to catch on the water. While you’re always close to the lake in Canberra this is my favourite spot as it directly faces Black Mountain while almost feeling like you’re on the beach. At least it’s the closest you will get!

5. Point Hut Pond – relaxing, serene and green. You have to pick the right times though because it can get quite busy!


OBVIOUSLY there are sooooo many nature reserves and parks in Canberra the list could go on and on. But I’ve only been here for 18 months and still have plenty of exploring to do. Let me know if you have any suggestions!

I’ll just leave this picture of my incredibly attractive husband right here… byeee!

Leave a comment